Junglewife

Adventures of a former overseas missionary, pilot's wife, and mom of 4 girls

Potayto, potahto February 2, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — junglewife @ 7:49 am

Ah, potatoes.  I usually buy my potatoes from someone who comes around selling them. Usually it is a guy, but lately there have been some women selling potatoes, too. They bring them in a huge woven bag (called a noken) and usually want you to buy the entire thing. Last time I split a noken of potatoes with Amber because I can’t use that many potatoes!  I think I bought these not too long after we got back from furlough. Yes, 3 months ago.   I honestly don’t use potatoes that much in my cooking.

So, what happens to potatoes here, the longer they sit? Unless, of course, they get moldy first…

They sprout!

And not just any old sprout, these have funky purple alien things coming out of them! Just look and see….

And, another one:

Why the potatoes all of a sudden? Well, let me give you the long version of the story…

Dan was supposed to go to Nabire but the pilot who was going to come pick him up and fly back with him was kind of late, and ended up having to spend the night here in Wamena. So instead of Dan being gone and it only being me and the girls for dinner, I instead had to come up with dinner for a guest on the spur of the moment. No worries, that is my life!

I thought Dan might enjoy grilling, so I pulled some hot dogs out of the freezer (ordered from Bali), opened up a can of baked beans (imported from the States, but bought in Timika), started bread dough for hot dog buns, and decided to make potato salad.  Of course this meant peeling potatoes.

But, when I looked at my recipe, I was a little confused. The recipe called for 4-5 large potatoes. I halved the recipe, so that would be about 2 large potatoes, right?  But here’s my question:

How many of these….


… does it take to equal one large potato???

Yes, that is about the usual size of potatoes that we have here!  See my basketful?

It makes peeling them quite the chore, and even if I decide to leave the skins on and just scrub them, it’s still pretty tedious work!

I finally just peeled a bunch, piled them in a bowl, and decided that was enough.

And the potato salad (and the rest of the dinner, for that matter!) turned out great. If anything, I had too MANY potatoes!

 

 

8 Responses to “Potayto, potahto”

  1. Gracia M. Says:

    Those are bigger potatoes than we had in CAR. My husband bought some big ones once in the capitol city and planted the eyes. He got some potatoes, but they were marble-sized. Glad your meal was good.

  2. Emily Ringenberg Says:

    I have a potato salad recipe from a lady in Yoder. She would not share her recipe until we were ready to move. She did not want any competition from any one when we had carry-in dinners. Anyway, one of the items which she used was celery seed plus fresh celery. I don’t know if I ever made potato salad when you were here but I do use her recipe.
    Right now we have a blizzard. We are supposed to get up to 12-16 ” of snow tonight. In fact your folks have to stay here since all flights out of
    S. Bend have been cancelled. Hope all of you are fine. Love, Nana

    • junglewife Says:

      The recipe I used was a “Hawaiian-style” potato recipe which has shell macaroni noodles in it as well as chopped pickles and a bit of pickle juice. It was delicious!

      I have heard about your blizzard. I hope that you aren’t snowed in for too long. I would imagine that the flights out of Chicago are cancelled as well. Will be praying my folks will be able to make it out as soon as possible!

  3. Jen Says:

    What cute potatoes! Glad you figured out how many to use! I love how you captured the detail of that purple alien looking thing popping out. Are you going to plant some now that they’ve sprouted?

    • junglewife Says:

      I don’t think I’ll plant any. I’m going to try to keep my gardening to things we CAN’T get here. I’ve also heard from people that have tried to grow their own potatoes that they get eaten by ants in the soil. So I’ll just keep buying them. Especially since I hardly ever use them! 🙂

  4. Martina Rose McKever Says:

    When they are that small 4 would equal a large potato.

  5. Kim Says:

    Mmmmm, every once in a while it’s nice to have food reminiscent of “home” 🙂 Last night I made pulled pork, cornbread and coleslaw. YUM!

    Potato salad is a lot of work, especially with tiny potatoes! But it’s so worth it, don’t you think? Sounds like a very yummy meal!

    • junglewife Says:

      Yes, it’s nice to have that “homestyle” food sometimes! Do you have a good coleslaw recipe? I’m searching for a good one, although everyone’s definition of “good” is different. I’m looking for a nice creamy-style slaw, not too sweet, not too vinegar-y… When we lived in TN they would always serve coleslaw ON the BBQ sandwiches at the restaurants, and I’ve never been able to make anything quite like that slaw!


Leave a Reply

