Junglewife

Adventures of a former overseas missionary, pilot's wife, and mom of 4 girls

Daily Photos: January 28 – February 7 February 8, 2011

Filed under: Daily Photos,Flying,Kids,Wamena Life — junglewife @ 1:24 pm

Friday, January 28 – Tonight we had some friends over for dinner – two couples and their kids. Dan had been talking with them about Mexican food a few days ago, and so we all decided to get together and have a big Mexican meal, complete with shredded pork, refried beans, salsa, guacamole, Mexican rice, and the works!Β  The pork came from a pig leg Dan was given at an airstrip recently, and I had just put it in my freezer until I wanted to use it. I hadn’t looked at it very closely (it was in a big black plastic bag) and when I pulled it out a couple days ago to thaw it and put the meat in the crock pot, I found that it was complete with skin, hair, and hoof still intact! Yikes! Just be glad I didn’t take any pictures of THAT!Β  It made awfully delicious pork, though!

 

Saturday, January 29 – Natalie’s friend T had her birthday today and to celebrate had a big water-themed birthday party. It actually was kind of cold today so I wondered how that would all work out, but when I went to pick Natalie up, I found that they had played outside for a while, but then all came in and warmed up by the fire πŸ™‚

 

Sunday, January 30 – This is the shoe rack/basket by our door. Here in Indonesia everyone takes off their shoes by the door before coming inside. I have a shoe rack for the adult shoes but the kids’ shoes were quickly getting out of control, so I set a basket on top of the shoe rack to corral the kids’ shoes.Β  Here we see (among others) Elmo slippers, pink fuzzy Crocs, knee/elbow pads for roller skating, and blue high-heeled dress-up shoes!

 

Monday, January 31 – Natalie found a moth outside today and wanted to “pet” it.Β  It flew away a couple times, but she was able to see where it went each time so she could pet it again!Β  Finally after it landed on a tree by our house I decided to get my camera and see if I could get a picture of her petting the fuzzy moth.Β  Yes, those are painted fingernails… “Jasmine color” if you must know πŸ™‚

 

Tuesday, February 1 – Tonight I expected Dan to be gone to Nabire, but instead he was home, and the Nabire pilot had to spend the night here in Wamena! He came over for dinner, and after dinner the girls were wild and crazy, putting on a show for him.Β  While we sat and chatted after the meal, the girls took all the cushions off the couch and made a tower in the middle of the living room!

 

Wednesday, February 2 – Claire, after her nap, snuggling up with her blankies… and Daddy’s “blankies”!Β  One day a while ago I had to wash Claire’s blankets. She was very sad and missed her blankets, so Dan asked her if she wanted to snuggle with “Daddy’s blankie” instead, and pulled out one of his blue bandanas.Β  Of course she was very excited to snuggle with “Daddy’s blankie” and ever since then she not only has to have HER blankies when she goes to sleep, but Daddy’s blankies as well!

 

Thursday, February 3 – Beans, beans, the magical fruit… okay, stopping there πŸ™‚Β  Someone came around selling beans this afternoon and even though I didn’t really need them, I bought some anyway. Maybe I will end up making some red beans and rice, yum!Β  I have found that here, rather than planning a menu and then making my shopping list based on my menu plan, I instead make my menu based on what I can buy that day! So if someone comes around selling beans, maybe we will have red beans and rice for dinner!Β  These are fresh red beans, and come in these little bundles tied together at the top. It is a bit of work to shell them, and when I do, I often find that many of them are more green or white than red, but such is life!

 

Friday, February 4 – Since Dan is in Nabire this week I thought I would include one of his pictures (I got it from him after he came home, of course!) Here he is in Nabire standing in front of the Caravan. Pretty soon he will solo and then be flying the Caravan on his own instead of just training!

 

Saturday, February 5 – Claire came to me this morning and asked if I would play Go Fish. Of course I will! So we sat on the living room rug and played a couple rounds of Go Fish. It is a “Littlest Pet Shop” edition of Go Fish, so often Claire will ask for a card by animal instead of by number: “Mommy, do you have a turtle?”, but she surprised me at how many numbers she knows!Β  And at the end I literally fell over laughing when she counted the number of pairs she had – “One, two, three, four, five, six, eleven, twelve, thirteen…” πŸ™‚

 

Sunday, Feburary 6 – Claire and I went out in the yard this afternoon and Leo followed us. He ran into the bushes and Claire was trying to find him… can YOU find the kitty in this picture?! πŸ™‚

 

Monday, February 7 – Almost bedtime, and the girls were playing so happily in the playroom, I hated to make them stop to get ready for bed! I know this isn’t the greatest picture, but I just love how I captured their moment. They were playing some sort of princess dress-up game, and just having the greatest time together. I love it when they play nicely together!

 

10 Responses to “Daily Photos: January 28 – February 7”

  1. Rebecca C. Says:

    Oh! I see the Mike and Kelly in that first picture! Tell them “hi” from us! It’s kind of strange to see our old language school classmates already over there on the “other side.” And can I just say how extremely jealous I am of them right now…eating real pork AND Mexican food with the DeSalvos in Wamena? Really, does it get any better than that?! Love the pics, as usual Sarah. So fun!

    • junglewife Says:

      YES, we are really enjoying having Mike and Kelli around. They are a great couple, and Dan and Mike even went to school together at Moody! We didn’t even know they were moving here until just a couple weeks before they arrived!

      We sure wish you were here, too… Any way you could join the Kal to Papua great migration that seems to be happening lately? πŸ™‚

  2. Gracia M. Says:

    Thanks for the pics. Your girls are so pretty. The fresh beans look good.
    We’re seeing God answer prayer for the dad of my 2 little grand-daughters. He and my daughter are still separated, but he is meeting weekly with a man from our church and reading his Bible and praying. We’re praying that his new faith will be genuine and forgiveness and reconciliation will follow.

  3. Jen Says:

    LOVE that moth picture! Her polish looks just like the polish I put on Emma G the other day!

  4. Angela Says:

    Oh, I so do not want to imagine a pig leg with hair, skin, etc. A whole (cooked) chicken makes my stomach turn. You are my hero, Sarah πŸ™‚
    Can’t believe how much older your girls yet. Fun that they enjoy playing together.

  5. @ngie Says:

    This is the third year you are doing daily pictures, right? I must say that your images have gotten much better. The composition is more interesting and they seem more lively. Good job!

    • junglewife Says:

      Yep, this is the third year. I can’t believe I’ve been at it for so long. Thanks for your comments on my pictures, I appreciate it! I hope my photography is getting better, but I don’t stress about having the “perfect” pictures. Sometimes having a picture, albeit imperfect, is better than no picture at all!

  6. Carrie Says:

    I LOVE the color of those beans!! And as for the pink, fuzzy Crocs – I admit that I have a pair in my size. πŸ™‚ Fun looking at all your pictures!

  7. Kim Says:

    I’m thinking of going over to WordPress too πŸ™‚ Am waiting until furlough, though, so I have my kids around to help!

    Your pork story reminded us of our first pork buy in Uganda. Muy similar! LOL

    I can’t get over how much bigger the girls suddenly seem. Like being back on the field has caused them to grow like Jack’s beanstalk πŸ™‚

    • junglewife Says:

      Yes! The girls are growing like weeds! Hopefully our crate arrives soon (like in the next couple months, I am hoping…) so that I will have clothes for Natalie!!! Claire can always wear Natalie’s hand-me-downs… the upside of having two girls!!!


Leave a Reply

