Junglewife

Adventures of a former overseas missionary, pilot's wife, and mom of 4 girls

Daily Photos: February 17 – 24 February 25, 2011

Filed under: Daily Photos,Kids,Wamena Life — junglewife @ 10:08 am

Thursday, February 17 – Exercise! I have been trying to be better about exercising lately, and gotten more serious about losing some weight. We’ll see what happens, but at least I am DOING something!  This DVD is great, there are 2 20-minute workouts – one focusing on arms and one focusing on legs. It’s not supposed to be cardio but it’s fast-paced enough that I work up a sweat!  Great for toning I am sure! I have been doing this DVD on Tuesdays and Thursdays, and on M-W-F I am walking/running with my friend Amber here on the base.

 

Friday, February 18 – Sewing! I have been doing a lot of sewing lately. I received this apron pattern in the mail recently and am making a few of these to give as gifts (I need to make one for myself, too!) Other gifts are in the works, too – I love making things for other people!  So the past few days and probably the next few will be days with a lot of sewing! I like quilting, but I am finding that I like making other things (clothes, bags, etc) a bit more because it seems like there is a little more room for error than with quilting where you have to get all those seams to match up exactly right!

 

Saturday, February 19 – Fun with friends!  Tonight we had a big group of friends over for a pitch-in Italian dinner. After dinner Isaac setup his projector so we could all watch an episode of “Wipeout” on our wall.  It’s such a blessing to have friends here in Wamena!

 

Sunday, February 20 –  Beautiful little roses. These are not actually in our yard but in our neighbors’ yard. The house has been empty for several months but a new family will be moving in early next month!  We enjoy their roses but soon they will have their own roses to enjoy 🙂

 

Monday, February 21 – We went to the store today and it looked like they had re-stocked the toy aisle, so I took a quick look at the toys. Most of them are very cheap quality, and most of them are way over-priced, but this time I noticed a little fusible-bead kit and at less than $10 it wasn’t too expensive so I picked it up for the girls. Natalie just loves making designs with these fusible beads. I don’t think it’s a very “practical” craft, because what in the world do you actually DO with the things when you’re done with them?!  But she sure has fun making them, and I’ll encourage that any day!

 

Tuesday, February 22 – We went over to our friends’ house today to celebrate another friends’ birthday. She and her family live interior (in a tribe) so we don’t get to see them that often, but when we do we enjoy our time together! They were just coming back into Wamena after a break, and will head back into the village later this week.  After eating dinner together, we decided that it was Wipeout time (yes, we enjoy our Wipeout here!) and set up the projector again!  Little “I” was playing a game while the rest of us were watching Wipeout, and Claire ran over to sit next to him and watch him.  It was SO adorable just watching her with him, every once in a while she would pat him on the back or the head, or put her arm around him.  They sure have had fun playing together, and Claire will miss him when he goes back into the tribe!

 

Wednesday, February 23 – A self-portrait! And not a very good one! Oh well!  Yesterday I finished up a hat I knitted, and wondered when I would get a chance to wear it. Well, today was cold and rainy ALL day long, and by the afternoon I was freezing, and glad to have a hat to wear!  So here is my warm, colorful, newly-knitted hat that I sure am enjoying wearing!

 

Thursday, February 24 – The girls’ hair clips were getting out of control so I decided to make a little board to hang them on (I took pictures while I was making it and plan to post those as a little “how-to” in a couple of days.) I hung it up on the wall in the bathroom, and as soon as I did, Claire hopped up on the counter, pointing out the hair clips she wanted me to put in her hair – too cute!

 

10 Responses to “Daily Photos: February 17 – 24”

  1. Jen Says:

    Lovely photos! Love the hair clip idea!

  2. Jen Says:

    Love the hat, too!

    • junglewife Says:

      thanks 🙂 Do you mind sharing your Ravelry name so I can look you up there? I don’t know if you post your projects on there or not but if you do I’d love to check them out 🙂

  3. Gracia M. Says:

    The hat is cute. My daughter has been crocheting hats, and is even selling some of them. Oh course, here in IN. this winter has been cold and snowy so hats are much more necessary than where you are. She also has something similar to your board for barrettes and hair ribbons. I’ve been trying to do my walking DVD, but sometimes my left knee starts to hurt, just a little bit, but then I back off a little bit. I only did 1/2 of the DVD today, which is 1 mile, and yesterday I didn’t do any. Hope to be able to do all 2 miles tomorrow. We’re supposed to get another snowstorm tonight. Oh goody!

    • junglewife Says:

      Yeah, I would love to make more hats, but the weather isn’t often cold enough to wear them here! I don’t know how to crochet. I have seen some amazing crocheted items, though! Do you have the Leslie Samson walking DVDs? I have tried those and they are pretty good!

  4. Carrie Says:

    I LOVED doing those bead projects as a kid! As to what to do with them, my mom still hangs them on her Christmas tree every year! 🙂

  5. Lacey Says:

    Fusable bead projects…. use them for coasters…. that is what my mom did.

  6. kara-noel Says:

    Yeah for working out! I would like to sew right now but I have NO energy after my boot camp in the morning. I’m in survival mode.

    • junglewife Says:

      I’m in my own kind of “boot-camp”, trying to lose my 3-year-old baby weight! I think for me, sewing/knitting/crafting is my alternative to baking right now. Since I’m cutting out a lot of sugar and not eating desserts, I have to have SOMETHING else to do with the time I usually would have spent baking! So there is a lot of crafting going on here right now! 🙂


Leave a Reply

