Junglewife

Adventures of a former overseas missionary, pilot's wife, and mom of 4 girls

How to make a hair-clip organizer February 27, 2011

Filed under: Crafts,Kids — junglewife @ 1:19 pm

The other day I made a hair-clip organizer for the girls. I did it because their hair clips were getting out of control and getting lost all over the place. So I decided to organize them. I can’t pass this idea off as my own. While I didn’t directly use anyone else’s tutorial, I know that I probably saw the idea or something similar online… just a little disclaimer there! But I did take pictures while I was doing it, so if you want to make your own, doing it the way I did it, you are welcome to do so!

Here is what you will need:

– An old frame

– A piece of fabric slightly bigger than the frame

– A hot glue gun

– Ribbons

– And, of course, hair clips!

So, you’ll want to start with a frame. It might be ugly, it might have lost its glass, or you might just want it to use for this project! Mine was kind of ugly and also broken, so I used it 🙂

Next you want to choose a piece of fabric. I used white because I had a lot of cheap white fabric on hand.

Lay the frame down on the fabric and cut around the frame, leaving enough extra fabric around the edges to be able to wrap around the edges of the frame.

Next get out your handy-dandy glue gun! Lay the fabric down, and the frame face-down on top of it.  Make sure the frame is centered in the middle of the fabric! Squeeze out a strip of glue and wrap the fabric around the frame to the back, gluing the fabric to the back of the frame.

 

Do the same thing with the opposite edge.

 

Now you need to make sure that the fabric will look nice on the sides, so fold in the corners as if you were wrapping a birthday present.

And then fold up and hot-glue to the back of the frame. Do the same with the remaining side.

Ta-da!  Here is the back:

And the front:

Now it’s time for the fun, colorful part!  You can choose to have your hair-clip organizer oriented vertically or horizontally. I chose horizontally.

Find some ribbons and lay them out on the front of your frame the way you like.

The other reason I decided to orient my frame horizontally is that some of my ribbons were not very long, so this was the only way they would fit. Also because they weren’t very long, there wasn’t enough ribbon to wrap them all the way around to the back, so I glued them to the top/bottom.

Start with the top. I found it worked easier (to get them spaced evenly) to glue them all to the top first.

And then to to the bottom, pulling tightly as you glue so that the ribbons are tight across the front of the frame.

And there you have it!  Obviously I’m not a perfectionist,as my ribbons aren’t *quite* straight!

Now, put the hair clips on it, and hang it up!  You can either hot glue another ribbon to the back to use as a hanger, like I did, or just pound a couple of nails into the wall, and hang the frame directly on them.

And, if you are like me, your little girl will climb up on the bathroom counter right after you hang up your new hair-clip organizer, admiring all the beautiful hair-clippies…

And point out the ones she wants you to put in her hair…

And then ham it up for the camera with newly-discovered hair clippies in her (short) hair!

And that’s it! You know, I realized when I was almost done making this that it could be done a lot easier and simpler if you just had a small/medium canvas (you know, the kind you buy to paint on…)  You could paint it whatever color you wanted, and then just hot glue the ribbons to it… no fabric involved!

Well anyway, I hope you liked my little “tutorial”!  If you end up feeling inspired and making one, let me know!

 

15 Responses to “How to make a hair-clip organizer”

  1. Bridget Says:

    So cute!!

  2. Ellie Says:

    Great idea! I might make one, but I doubt my tomboy daughter would use it. Her best friend would, though – great birthday present idea – outfitted with a few pretty clips already!

  3. Carmen Says:

    You did an excellent job on the girls’ ribbon holder. Extremely cute.
    I like the “ham it up” pictures too. So, so adorable!

    • junglewife Says:

      Thanks! I had fun making it. I think it is easier for the girls to pick hair clips when they can see them all like that! Claire definitely knows how to ham it up! She is a cutie, but CRAZY, too! 😛

  4. kelli Says:

    This is SO cute! I’m the one who loves barrettes! And they are all over the house!! This makes me want to make one, then buy fun new ones to put on it. =)

    • junglewife Says:

      Do it! 🙂 If you want to buy new clippies, my favorites are from Ribbies Clippies (http://www.ribbiesclippies.com/) They are a bit more pricey than others but they hold my girls’ hair SO well. I thought I could try making my own (they look so simple!) but the little clips I bought must not have been very good quality because they just didn’t clip very well. So I am sold on Ribbies Clippies!

  5. Jen Says:

    SUCH a great idea! Thanks for sharing!

  6. @ngie Says:

    I love it when you share your glorious craftiness! 🙂 What a cutie girl you have to model for the project. 🙂

  7. Rachel Doriot Says:

    This is such a cute idea. too bad there are no girls in our house to make good use of it, but I agree. Great gift idea!!

  8. Laura Says:

    Thanks for posting this! I’ve been trying to figure out a way to organise my daughter’s hair accessories, and your idea is fantastic.

    I know what I’m doing tonight!

  9. Laura Says:

    Here’s what I made this Saturday: http://goo.gl/pB438

    I made this using materials I already owned, which was great. My daughter still dumps the contents of her vanity into a bag and totes it around the house. This is especially aggravating when it’s time for school and I can’t find a single hair clip.

    I’m hanging this baby on her wall, high enough out of her reach. That’l learn her!

  10. […] Hair Clip Organizer ~ Great idea from Junglewife on organizing all your girlie’s hair clips! […]


Leave a Reply

