Junglewife

Adventures of a former overseas missionary, pilot's wife, and mom of 4 girls

Daily photos: February 25 – March 3 March 4, 2011

Filed under: Crafts,Daily Photos,Kids,Wamena Life — junglewife @ 7:07 am

Friday, February 25 – I haven’t done much gardening lately but it really seems like that doesn’t matter – I have tomato plants sprouting up all over the place that I didn’t even plant!  They are mostly little cherry-type tomatoes, and a couple plants that have tomatoes that are a bit bigger. I sure love having fresh tomatoes to munch on! (yes, that is dill in the background, too…)

Saturday, February 26 – Happy Birthday to the girls’ friend C!  He is turning 7 today and had a BIG Toy Story-themed birthday party outside.  The kids had a great time playing games even though the weather was cool and cloudy.  It’s always fun to celebrate birthdays!

 

Sunday, February 27 – Poor sick Natalie.  She’s been fighting a cold for the past couple of weeks and I thought she was getting better but just in the last couple of days she has come down with a nasty, hacking cough.  I knew she wasn’t feeling well when she fell asleep on the couch in front of the TV yesterday afternoon… with lots of kids running around and playing in the living room!  So today she has spent all day resting in her jammies. Poor kid.

 

Monday, February 28 – Sushi!  We got together for dinner tonight with our friends Isaac and Amber. Amber made sushi and I made lettuce wraps.  We can’t go out for Japanese food but we sure can make our own!

 

Tuesday, March 1 – Friends!  These are some more friends who live interior. They’ve come out to Wamena to get some passport stuff done (a rep from the American consulate is visiting later this week) and our girls are thrilled to have lots of other girls to play with again!

 

Wednesday, March 2 – A little bit of decorating. I am NOT a decorator. I struggle to make my home look cozy and homey, especially with the limited “stuff” we have available to us here. I love to craft, though, so when I find an idea for something I can make on my own for my home, I’m on it!  I found this idea for a fabric wreath online, and it took me a few days and lots of hot glue sticks (and a few burns) but I LOVE the result. The other side looked empty so I painted a canvas green and added a few flowers made in the same way as some of the ones on the wreath. The living room is starting to look more and more homey!

 

Thursday, March 3 – Packing for a quick weekend trip to Timika! Natalie’s still sick, and I feel like I’m starting to come down with some bug (feeling pretty achy) but we NEED this little break, so we’re making it happen! This time it won’t be just us, though – 2 other families are coming along with us – so exciting!

 

2 Responses to “Daily photos: February 25 – March 3”

  1. Ellie Says:

    Yeah, is showed up in my feed reader, no problems. I remember admiring the verse on the wall and wondering where you got it! 🙂

    • junglewife Says:

      Okay, thanks for letting me know! I got the verse from a place called “Uppercase Living.” They have SO many vinyl decor things to put on the wall, and you can pick your colors, size, etc. You can even make your own quotes/verses if you like, picking the font and everything. The hardest part was deciding what to get!


Leave a Reply

