Junglewife

Adventures of a former overseas missionary, pilot's wife, and mom of 4 girls

Favorite Recipes: Two Thai Chicken recipes April 4, 2011

Filed under: Favorite recipes — junglewife @ 3:34 pm

Well, I have a long-time favorite recipe to share with you, but then I thought of a new one that I just discovered that I’ve already made three times. That makes it a favorite, right?! They’re both described as “Thai” which makes them tasty in my book whether they’re authentic Thai or not!

So, here is the first recipe. I originally got the recipe from a Quick Cooking magazine. I think it’s called something else now, but three years’ subscriptions to that magazine got Dan and I through 3 years at Moody and beyond! Wonderful recipes in that magazine. I don’t get it now because there’s a lot of ingredients I just can’t get here, but I think if I ever moved back to the States I would subscribe again. So here is the original recipe – Thai Shrimp and Noodles. I have heavily modified it to make it work here, so what follows are my modifications:

Thai Chicken

1 lb chicken breast, cut into chunks, mixed with 1 T soy sauce and 1 T cornstarch in a bowl

1/2 cup chicken broth (or water with chicken boullion added)

1/4 cup fresh cilantro, minced

1/4 cup chunky peanut butter

2 T soy sauce

2 tsp fresh ginger, minced

1 cup carrots, julienned

1 cup green onions, chopped

2 cups cabbage, shredded

Combine broth, cilantro, peanut butter, soy sauce, honey, and ginger in a bowl. Set aside.

Heat a large skillet and add a tablespoon each of vegetable oil and sesame oil. When the pan is hot, add the chicken (already mixed with cornstarch and soy sauce) and cook until done. (This is my favorite way to cook chicken chunks, by the way. I learned the method from another recipe, and since then, any time I have to cook chunks of chicken by itself, I use this method. Somehow the  cornstarch and soy sauce turn into a magic potion that allows the chicken to brown and not release all of its juices into the pan. Try it, you will be a convert!)  When the chicken is cooked, remove to a bowl and set aside. Keep the pan on.

Time to cook the veggies!  Really, you can use whatever veggies you like. In the States I used to add some bean sprouts and pea pods. Here we can’t get those so I use shredded cabbage.  Whatever floats your boat.  Add the veggies to the hot pan (there should still be oil in the pan. If not, add a little more.) When they are just barely cooked (don’t over-cook them! You want them “crisp-tender”.) add the chicken back into the pan along with the sauce. Cook until the sauce is heated up.

Serve over rice. Enjoy! Yum!

 

The second recipe I wanted to share with you I got from Pioneer Woman’s website. Boy, she has some tasty recipes! Unfortunately I can’t always get all the ingredients here for the stuff she makes, but when I can, I know it’s going to be a good recipe!  Recently I discovered the Thai Honey Peanut Chicken on her Tasty Kitchen recipe website. I have made it three times in the last several weeks, twice exactly as the recipe is written, and once a little different. The recipe calls for the chicken to marinate in the sauce for a couple of hours before cooking it. The one time when I made it, I didn’t remember that the chicken had to marinate. The chicken was still frozen at the time when I should have started marinating it, so I ended up just cooking the chicken in the sauce without marinating it.  It was still tasty, but not as good as it was when made as the recipe is written.  So try it, you will like it!

 

And that’s it for today!  I promise the next recipe will be a dessert. I like to cook, but I really love baking. And I have a lot of favorite dessert recipes! So the next one will be a sweet one!

 

3 Responses to “Favorite Recipes: Two Thai Chicken recipes”

  1. Jen Says:

    I also love baking. Can’t wait to see recipes you post! I got pregnant with Joshua in Thailand and we had some really awful Thai food. I’ve steered away from it since. However, I did eat some pad Thai in India and actually liked it, so I guess I should venture further now!

  2. thisnomad Says:

    When you used the phrase “whatever floats your boat” I thought of PW right away. And then you mentioned one of her recipes. 🙂 She lives about an hour from me, and I live in the town she grew up in. I see her kids around town some times. Don’t know why I felt compelled to share that, but I did.

    • junglewife Says:

      Yeah, she does use that phrase a lot, doesn’t she? I wasn’t trying to copy her, honest! Oooh, living so close to a real live celebrity?! How in the world do you stand it? 🙂 Well, that just means that any time she has a get-together at her house where you have to be local in order to attend, potentially you would be in the running if you were interested!


Leave a Reply

