Junglewife

Adventures of a former overseas missionary, pilot's wife, and mom of 4 girls

Crafty goodness April 6, 2011

Filed under: Crafts,Kids — junglewife @ 1:03 pm

I have been doing a few crafty-type things lately so I just thought I would put them all in one post for those of you who care 🙂  They were all sewing projects, but most of them have to do with knitting, if that makes sense. You’ll see…!

I have accumulated quite a few knitting needles since taking up knitting again about a year ago.  It is amazing how these things snowball!  So, I wanted to get my knitting needles organized, which isn’t always the easiest task. I have sets of double-pointed needles and also a few interchangeable needles.  The interchangeables are great, but the tips have a way of getting lost and they aren’t marked for size, either.

So, I decided to take the Crayon Roll-ups pattern I used to make crayon kits for the girls before furlough (and which are still very much loved, by the way!) and modify it a bit to fit my double-pointed needles and my interchangeable needle tips.  (The Crayon Roll-ups pattern can be found on this website – just scroll down until you get to the “Free Goodies” section on the right.)  I used the pattern as written, just made it taller or shorter depending on what I needed, and also sewed my lines with different spacing.

Here is my case for interchangeable needle tips:

 

And my case for my double-pointed needles:

 

I don’t have all the sizes of either one yet, but thought I’d better plan for the future just in case I end up buying more. 🙂 Here are both of them together so you can see the differences in size:


And here they are in their rolled-up loveliness. So nice for storage!

And then… I needed some way to store my circular needles! This doesn’t help if I want to travel but it is great for home storage. I kind of created my own thing here.  It’s not perfect, but it works for me!   I just created little “pockets” and slid each needle through so it hangs down.  The needles go by size from top to bottom, and then at the bottom are the cables that go with my interchangeable needle set.

Here is a more close-up picture.

 

And last, but not least… dresses for the girls! The girls have “twirly” dresses that I bought for them last summer, and they are so loved that they are getting all worn out and faded from the sun. Now, there are a LOT of patterns out there for little girls’ dresses. But most of them are NOT what I wanted!  My girls love twirly dresses  – not more fitted ones. And although there are a lot of twirly SKIRT patterns out there, my girls wear dresses a lot more than they wear skirts. So when I finally came across this pattern, I knew it was EXACTLY what I was looking for!  I placed my order (from the website on the link – Pink Chalk Fabrics) and shipping overseas was only $2, and I got it in only 2 weeks! Can’t beat that!

So, I ended up making 2 dresses in just a few days after I got the pattern. These actually are the “v-neck top” version of the pattern.  I am sure that I will be making many more dresses in years to come! Good thing the pattern goes up to size 8!

Aren’t they cute? (and the dresses aren’t bad either :-))

 

5 Responses to “Crafty goodness”

  1. Gracia M. Says:

    Very cute! I used to enjoy sewing for my 2 little girls when we were in Africa. I haven’t sewed much lately, but just last night cut out 2 dresses for grand-daughters Ella and Evie. They are 3 1/2 and 1 1/2 now. Ella is slender and Evie is chunky so they wear almost the same size.

  2. Rhonda Says:

    Way cute dresses and girls! I like all your fabrics especially the blue and purple coordinating ones. I plan on making some of those roll ups for when X gets older for crayons/color pencils. And if have a girl someday, I’m looking forward to making some dresses too. I might end up just having to make them for other people. 🙂

  3. Conney Jo Keel Says:

    What wonderful ideas you have! I passed them on to my daughter.

  4. […] April 6 – The girls twirling around in their new twirly dresses that I made for them last week. I love making things for my kids and seeing them enjoy […]

  5. Carmen Says:

    Wow! Everything looks great! I like the roll ups! Did you get it from the crayon roll up pattern? I loved the idea.

    And those twirly dresses are absolulty adorable. Very Very Cute! BUt of course the girls are the cutest!


Leave a Reply

