Junglewife

Adventures of a former overseas missionary, pilot's wife, and mom of 4 girls

Happy Mothers’ Day! May 8, 2011

Filed under: Kids — junglewife @ 8:03 pm

I know I have been neglecting this poor blog lately and this won’t be a long post either but I just wanted to put up a quick post to say Happy Mothers’ Day!

I sure wish I lived closer to my mother. I am not sure you can get much farther apart than Quito, Ecuador and Wamena, Papua, Indonesia!    But I am so thankful for the time that we DO have together, and just wanted to thank my mom for being such a great mom, and also a great “gramma” to my girls!

Mom, I am so thankful for you!  As I raise my own girls it makes me realize even more what a great mom you are, and what a great job you did raising us kids.  I know you probably remember the mistakes you thought you made, but rest assured, I don’t remember them!  I am so grateful to have a godly mother who raised me in the Lord and in obedience to God’s word.  Thank you for being a wonderful mom, and also now for being my friend!  I love you!

Here are a few pictures of my mom with my girls, taken while we were on furlough.  I love seeing my mom interact with my kids!  They just LOVE Gramma!

And… finally one of me, my mom, and the girls all together. Somehow I did not get the great pictures I wished I had gotten while were on furlough, but we sure do treasure all the moments we were able to spend together.

Happy Mothers’ Day to all the moms and grandmas out there!  I hope you have a wonderful day! (yes, our Mothers’ Day here is almost over… no, they don’t celebrate it here in Indonesia, but Dan and the girls made sure I had a special day! :-))

 

4 Responses to “Happy Mothers’ Day!”

  1. Gracia M. Says:

    Glad that your Mothers’ Day was special. Ours is just beginning. I’ll take a card and gift to my mom before we leave for church. When we come home we’ll pick up pizza (that’s what we have when my husband “cooks”.) Many of the kids and grandkids will come to share it with us. Love the picture of the girls chasing your mom!

  2. Becky Says:

    They are great pictures, though, very candid! 🙂

    Ironically, my Mom is in Ecuador at the moment, too! lol She is visiting my two sisters who live there…I’ll have to wait until she gets back to give her a Mother’s Day hug!

  3. I have never seen your mom look so healthy and fun! What a beautiful letter you wrote to her and I know some day your girls will have the same appreciation for you. I just recently found your new site. I have my web page on WP but with some things changed am having some trouble editing. I’ll get it finished some day. I started paraphrasing the psalms in 1993, then adding pictures and making it a part of my heart and life. They are so comforting. May you have a a happy mother’s day!
    Marilyn

  4. Jen Says:

    Happy Mother’s Day to you! It’s funny but I always forget to be intentional about taking pics of the grandkids with the grandparents. Love the moments you caught!


Leave a Reply

