Junglewife

Adventures of a former overseas missionary, pilot's wife, and mom of 4 girls

My Kindle? May 30, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — junglewife @ 7:11 pm

You might know that I am an avid reader. It’s the thing I do the most in my down-time, and most nights you will find me reading at least a few pages of a book right before I go to sleep at night. I am not a book-buyer. I don’t usually read most books more than once, and so when we live in the States I make good use of the public libraries. Here in Wamena there is no public library. There is a small “library” of English books here in one of the houses on the base, put together of books that other expats once owned and have donated for others to enjoy. I make use of that library as much as I can!

When we were back in the States for furlough, I considered getting a Kindle (the Amazon e-reader device.) It seems like it’s perfect for me – lightweight (no having to haul back pounds and pounds of books!), lots of books available, relatively inexpensive, etc. But there are some drawbacks – purchasing the books (although there are a lot of free books out there!), not being able to share books with others once I’m done reading them, etc. I thought about it for a while, but we had so many other expenses at the time (it costs a lot to stock up on clothes, vitamins, etc!) that I decided not to get one. But it doesn’t mean I wouldn’t love to have one! I have several friends here in Papua who have them, and they have nothing but good things to say about their Kindles.

In the last few months, several of you have written to me saying that you think that a Kindle would be a great thing for me to have, and even that you would be willing to contribute to the cost of one. So that is the reason I am posting this here. Right now the cost of a Kindle is only $114 on Amazon. We have friends coming back from the States in about a month who are willing to haul a few things for us, so if I am able to purchase one, I’d have them bring it back for me.

So if you would like to contribute to my “Kindle fund”, let me know! If you are a Paypal user, my e-mail is junglewife (at) gmail (dot) com

Please understand, the only reason I am posting this is because I’ve had several suggestions from people that I get one, and saying they’d like to help me get one. So I just thought I would put it out here 🙂

 

2 Responses to “My Kindle?”

  1. Laura Says:

    I rely on my Kindle all the time. I love the way it isn’t backlit, so you can read books in various lighting conditions.

    I also use it to store recipes. The recipes get typed up in Google Docs, then saved as a pdf, then uploaded to the Kindle. It’s a great took to use in the kitchen.

    As an American who now lives in the most congested area of Europe, my need for the Kindle derived from clearing clutter from bookshelves in our home because our books were stacked 3 deep and we ended up not reading anymore.

    Over here I have to order books from Amazon.co.uk because of licensing restrictions. For all of your local friends who have Kindles, which branch of Amazon do they purchase books from?

    There are so many books you can find on .mobi format that aren’t copyrighted to a particular area of the world, but finding them sometimes can be a little tricky.

    Anyway, I hope you get a Kindle soon.

  2. Brent Jones Says:

    My Kindle is wonderful; it is the best Christmas gift I have ever received. I use it every day. Free books are available from many sources esp. guttenberg.org I will donate to your Kindle fund!

    Uncle Brent


Leave a Reply

