Junglewife

Adventures of a former overseas missionary, pilot's wife, and mom of 4 girls

Favorite Recipes – Chocolate Chunk Cookies June 1, 2011

Filed under: Favorite recipes — junglewife @ 1:59 pm

I promised you a dessert, and here it is!  My newest favorite cookie recipe. I discovered this cookie recipe back in January, and since then I have made it probably 4 or 5 times (and, mind you, I haven’t done as much sweet-baking in the past few months as I used to!)    The original recipe is for GIANT cookies – dividing the dough into only 12 parts and baking huge monster cookies. I have made a half-batch of dough and divided the dough into 12 portions and still gotten pretty big cookies. I’ve also made a regular batch of dough and made regular-sized cookies and gotten about 3 dozen out of the batch (that is what you see in the picture above.)

 

I like this recipe because it has always turned out well for me. It doesn’t call for brown sugar (which we can’t get here – I make my own with molasses, but unfortunately I also have to bring the molasses from the States!) I have made it with real butter and also made it with the cheap, bad-for-your-arteries Indonesian shelf-stable margarine and had them turn out well.  I’ve made them with real American chocolate chips (known as “freedom chips” to Dan) and locally-bought chocolate bars that I’ve chopped up into chunks. So, they’re just an all-around good cookie recipe. Especially for the chocolate lovers!

 

So, without further ado, here is the recipe…

Chocolate Chunk Cookies

1 cup butter/margarine

1 1/4 cup sugar

2 eggs

1/2 cup cocoa powder

2 1/4 cups flour

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 tsp. baking powder

2 1/2 cups chocolate chips, or chopped chocolate bar

Preheat oven to 350. Cream butter and sugar. Add eggs and mix well. Mix in cocoa powder and then remaining ingredients. Divide dough into 12 portions for giant cookies, 24 portions for medium-sized cookies, or drop by teaspoonful onto cookie sheets for regular cookies. Makes about 3 dozen “regular-sized” cookies. Bake 10 minutes for regular sized cookies or 16-20 minutes for giant cookies. Let rest on baking sheets for a few minutes after baking before removing to cool on wire racks.

(recipe gotten from Annie’s Eats)

 

 

3 Responses to “Favorite Recipes – Chocolate Chunk Cookies”

  1. Jen Says:

    Oh, my goodness! Can I just have one of yours? They look delicious!

  2. Conney Jo Keel Says:

    Sarah, this looks wonderful! Please submit to the Ravelry cookbook?

    Thank you,

    Cjo (yohmama)

  3. Carmen Says:

    I will have to try this for sure!
    Thanks.


Leave a Reply

