Junglewife

Adventures of a former overseas missionary, pilot's wife, and mom of 4 girls

Random Randomness July 6, 2011

Filed under: Kids,Wamena Life — junglewife @ 3:20 pm

I realize that it has been a while since I have posted so even though our lives have not  been too exciting lately, I thought I’d give you a post just so this blog doesn’t sit empty and lonely for too long 🙂

– It has been cold here lately!  I think I mentioned that fact in one of my recent daily photo posts where we had  a fire in the fireplace. Well, the cold weather has not stopped and has just continued on and on.  This doesn’t just mean that we have a hard time getting our laundry dry on the line outside – it also means that Dan has a hard time flying. Well, not because of the cold. Because the cold usually comes right along with clouds and rain.  So much in fact that there are airstrips Dan has not been able to get into for several weeks!  And recently Dan flew through snow! Yes, he was up over 14,000 ft, but still… SNOW!    As for us down here on the ground, we just wear long pants, long sleeves, and socks more often!

– Next week is our MAF Papua family conference.  It is held at a “campground” not too far from Wamena in a little village called Pyramid (about 10 minutes in the plane).  We will all head out next Tuesday and stay there for a week with our fellow MAFers from all over Papua. I can’t say I’m really looking forward to it, as I don’t usually get much sleep while we are there, and the conditions are very similar to camping.  BUT I am trying to keep a good attitude!  Natalie is really looking forward to it – I know that she is going to LOVE the VBS program. I hope that Claire is able to go to the sessions, too, without too much fussing… maybe since big sister is so excited about it, she will be, too!  There is a team from New Heights Church that comes every year to do the VBS for the kids and youth programs for the teens (and the head pastor teaches the adult sessions) and they are always so great with the kids.   I am sure I will post about it after we get back but if you are curious, here are a couple posts from my old blog (I am still working on trying to get the old posts imported into WordPress!) from when we attended conference in 2008 and 2009 (last year we were in the States on furlough, and the first year we went – 2007 – I didn’t take any pictures! Imagine that!)

– Because conference is coming up, I have been doing my part to help prepare. Each person has a job assigned to them, to make sure the week of conference runs smoothly. Dan was assigned maintenance (along with 2 other guys) so they will make sure the generator is running (yes we bring in our own generator!) and fix anything that breaks. I am doing coffee breaks, so I make sure that there are snacks and hot drinks to be had each day when when we have our coffee breaks.  I also made up some hot cocoa mix to bring along, and will make some snacks to share as well (each family is asked to bring snacks to share, too). The ladies all over the island also help prepare some of the food that will be used when at conference (the actual food prep during the week is done by a couple non-MAF families who come in to help us, as well as a team of nationals who live in Pyramid.) So, us ladies here in Wamena were asked to help make some granola that we’ll eat for breakfasts at conference. I was making the granola yesterday morning, and when I took one of the pans out of the oven to rotate it and stir the granola, it somehow slipped and granola went all over the inside of my oven!  I quickly figured out that I had to turn off the oven (a bunch of the granola went down into where the fire was!)  and so I took the pans over to a friend’s house so she could finish baking it, and the rest of my morning was spent cleaning the granola out of my oven. Oh, where is a vacuum cleaner when you need one?! 🙂

– I made a huge boo-boo this afternoon. Right after lunch, the girls decided they wanted to play in the water outside. I thought it was freezing (I am currently wearing a long sleeved shirt, long pants, a sweatshirt, and socks!) but I wasn’t going to be “mean mom” so I let them put on their swimsuits and go outside and play in the puddles (did I mention it has rained a lot here lately?!)  When they were ready to come in I told them they had to take a bath before getting dressed, since they were covered in dirt and grass.  I let them play in the tub for a while before going in to bathe them.  Once I got in there I realized I should have rinsed them off first, because the tub water was full of dirt and grass! So I drained the water and started filling up the tub again before bathing the girls.  Well, both girls like to get under the faucet while the water is running, and this time it was Claire who was playing under the running water.  I decided that since they were done playing and I was just getting ready to bathe them, we didn’t need much water in the tub, and turned the water off. I ALWAYS turn off the hot water first, and then turn off the cold water, so the cold water is the last bit that runs out of the faucet. In fact, I had JUST done that only a few minutes before when filling up the tub for the first time that afternoon!  I don’t know what happened, but I turned the “hot” knob the wrong way, so instead of turning the water off, I was turning it on full-blast. And then when I turned off the cold, well… I am sure you can guess what happened. Lots of tears all around.  Claire crying because her back got scalded, and Natalie crying because Claire was hurt, and me crying because I hurt my girl.  So, some Tylenol, snuggles, and a nap later, we are all doing better.  Just in case you are worried, I don’t think Claire is hurt too bad. Her back is a little extra-pink, that’s all. But I feel like a horrible mother!

 

4 Responses to “Random Randomness”

  1. Aw Sarah Bearah! Crummy weather gets me down, too. Don’t worry, we all screw our kids up somehow. I’m not a mother, but I’ve got plenty of kids in the group home to mess with. 🙂 If the worst thing Claire has to bring up about you when she’s 25 in therapy is that you accidentally burned her back and cried about it. . . well, I think you’re good. Hang in there! I’m sure you’re conference will be a welcome retreat, even if you are roughing it. Hugs!

  2. Oh – how do you make hot chocolate mix? That sounds like a wonderful way to healthify hot chocolate!

  3. Carmen Says:

    Awww. I hope the weather changes for you!
    I hope you have fun at the conference. Just wanted to let you know I was thinking about you.

  4. Conney Jo Keel Says:

    Oh, Sarah! don’t feel too horribly, your girls are safe and you do love them. 🙂 I want you to have my new e-mail since we’re moving…

    cjo


Leave a Reply

