Junglewife

Adventures of a former overseas missionary, pilot's wife, and mom of 4 girls

Daily photos: August 26 – September 8 September 10, 2011

Filed under: Crafts,Daily Photos,Kids,Wamena Life — junglewife @ 4:22 pm

Friday, August 26 – Notice Claire’s wall. This is what happens when Mommy puts up cute decals on the wall, and then Claire has a few days where she doesn’t actually nap during her naptime and gets bored… Oh well!

 

Saturday, August 27 – Natalie created her own craft! She found my cardstock and craft punches, on her own made this little person and a few houses.  So creative!

 

Sunday, August 28 – Claire playing her LeapFrog game.  My aunt bought this game for the girls last summer, and we have gotten SO much use out of it! The girls just love playing it, and Claire has gotten better and better at the games instead of just being frustrated that they are too old for her.

 

Monday, August 29 – Dan had the day off today because he flew Saturday, and tomorrow is a holiday, so we thought it would be a good night to have some friends over for dinner. Before dinner the kids all had fun playing play-dough at the dining room table!

 

Tuesday, August 30 – Making cupcakes for Dan’s birthday tomorrow.  I remembered I had a few leftover Reeces PB cups in the cupboard and thought it would be a nice treat to put a peanut butter cup inside the cupcakes.  When I got them out of the cupboard I saw that the ants had found them first. Who knew that ants liked peanut butter so much?!  So much, even, that they ate the peanut butter filling and left the chocolate coating!

 

Wednesday, August 31 – Happy 32nd birthday to my hubby!  He didn’t want any party or anything, and I didn’t even make a cake. Just these cupcakes.  Thankfully he thought they were delicious. And I will share the recipe soon as it is one of my “favorite recipes”! 🙂

 

Thursday, September 1 – A good way to wind down after a long day of flying is to play Wii. I got Dan the Sports Resort game for his birthday and it is already a favorite!

 

Friday, September 2 – We found these colorful lollipops at the store and so of course the girls each had to get one.  They didn’t taste *quite* as good as they looked, but the girls still enjoyed them!

 

Saturday, September 3 – I am so thankful that we can get lettuce here in Wamena, even if we have to soak it in bleach water to kill all the germs before enjoying it!

 

Sunday, August 4 – A rainy afternoon and the girls are heading off to a friend’s house!

 

Monday, September 5 – I finished knitting my first sweater!  I am so happy with it and so thrilled with how it turned out!  Yes, it gets cold enough here in Wamena to wear a wool sweater!  (If you are on Ravelry and want to see my project page, it is here.)

 


Tuesday, September 6 – Walking to a friend’s house in the beautiful Wamena sunshine!  After we got home I realized I should have put on sunscreen… I ended up getting a little too much of that beautiful Wamena sun!

 

Wednesday, September 7 – At the store today we found these “Angry Birds”. I was feeling generous so I let the girls each pick out one. We recently bought the movie “Rio” and the girls LOVE it. They also love the “Angry Birds Rio” game that goes along with it, so now we are an “Angry Birds” family! 🙂

 

Thursday, September 8 – A few colorful IKEA candleholders on the fireplace mantel make me happy 🙂

 

5 Responses to “Daily photos: August 26 – September 8”

  1. Gracia M. Says:

    My grandkids love Angry Birds too. Your sweater is amazing! I never learned to knit. 2 more alike things about Africa and Wamena……….people were surprised it got cold enough for sweaters, and we either washed our lettuce in bleach water or rinsed it in filtered water many many times. I bet you were disappointed about the ants and the candy.

  2. You made that sweater! Holy cow, you are amazing!!! Send some lettuce my way! We can’t get decent lettuce in Nabire 😦

  3. Jennifer H. Says:

    Your sweater is BEAUTIFUL!!! Nice job!! And, I’m so glad you got a photo of the peanut butter, or rather, chocolate cups!

  4. Kris Larsen Says:

    I just love catching up on your life! While you live in a much more remote location than we do here in Taiwan, there are lots of similarities (like ants and cockroaches)! I have to tell you that your sweater is awesome! Feel free to knit me one….I’ll send you my address 🙂 J/K!!

  5. Kim Says:

    Gorgeous job on the sweater! I’m going to have to try the chocolate cake/cupcake recipe. Looks delish!


Leave a Reply

