Junglewife

Adventures of a former overseas missionary, pilot's wife, and mom of 4 girls

Daily Photos: October 2 – 9 October 12, 2011

Filed under: Daily Photos,Kids,Wamena Life — junglewife @ 10:45 am

Sunday, October 9 – Woo hoo! I can’t believe the internet is working!  The power was off all day yesterday, what a waste of a day that felt like… ugh…  Tomorrow morning early we head off to the coast and Jayapura to the immigration office. Time for our annual fingerprinting… since our fingerprints of course have changed from last year 🙂

So, in honor of the internet working, I thought I’d get caught up on my daily photos!

Wednesday, October 12 – So much for that!  As soon as I had written the above (I’d already uploaded all the photos and saved this post as draft!), the internet crashed, not to return that evening. Oh well.  And then we were out of town on Monday for fingerprinting, got back late Tuesday morning, and had essentially no internet the rest of the day Tuesday as well.  So much for having things all figured out!  I’ll post pictures later of our trip to the coast. It was a whirlwind trip, but I did manage to get a few photos!


Sunday, October 2 – Sitting on the porch, relaxing with Dan, watching the rain outside.  I was playing with the settings on my camera, trying to get the rain dripping off the corner of the roof (it wasn’t raining super hard) and this is what I managed to come up with.

 

 

Monday, October 3 – Some of our friends from interior are here for a couple of days so this morning we invited them to come over and play. Our girls love to play with their girls, and after a while of playing inside they thought it would be fun to play in our little pool outside. So, with borrowed swimsuits off they went!

 

Tuesday, October 4 – Back to school again for Natalie!   We are using the Sonlight K material for her, it seems to be going pretty well.  I brought the material back with me from furlough, and we did a couple months of homeschool last fall/spring before Natalie got tired of it. I didn’t want to push her at the time, but now we are back into the full-on school mode again.  And of course now Claire wants in on the action, too!

 

Wednesday, October 5 – How to make a kitty friend: make tuna sandwiches for your daughters for lunch. Give the tuna can to the kitty to lick out. He will be your new best friend. At least for a while 🙂

 

Thursday, October 6 – It has been rainy and cloudy ALL day today.   Poor girls are cooped up inside, so I figured it was a good day to give them a movie I had been saving for, well, a rainy day!  They love Barbie movies, so the Barbie 3 Musketeers was definitely a hit!  Claire’s favorite is a music video on the extras that shows the kitty singing one of the songs from the movie.  Claire had to go get her microphone and sing and dance along with the kitty!

Friday, October 7 – I have been trying to watch what I eat lately, but one of the indulgences I allowed myself was a square of my favorite – Dove dark chocolate. Today was a sad day as I ate the last piece from the bag some friends gave us several months ago 😦

Saturday, October 8 – Last night we had a family “sleepover”. I gave the girls a new movie (Gnomeo and Juliet) and we watched it together as a family in the living room.  After that the idea was that Dan would sleep in the living room with the girls, but after a while Natalie told me she didn’t want Daddy sleeping with them, that his snoring was bothering her. So Daddy got kicked out. And then later Claire fell off the mattresses they were sleeping on, and was crying, so I put her back in her bed. So it ended up being just Natalie sleeping alone in the living room! But all was not lost, as this morning everyone was back in the sleeping bags snuggling and watching the movie again!

 

Sunday, October 9 – Another lazy Sunday afternoon on the porch. This afternoon our indulgence was cherry Cokes (made with cherry snow-cone syrup and marachino cherries.) Claire got her own little cup of Coke, too, and enjoyed it while sitting on the porch wall.

 

One Response to “Daily Photos: October 2 – 9”

  1. Jen Says:

    That’s hilarious that Dan got kicked out of the sleepover!


Leave a Reply

