Junglewife

Adventures of a former overseas missionary, pilot's wife, and mom of 4 girls

Repurposed: Skirt turned dress for Claire October 20, 2011

Filed under: Crafts,Repurposed — junglewife @ 11:49 am

 

Another project!  This was a while ago, I’m only just now sharing it with you but hope you enjoy it.

I bought this skirt at a thrift store while we were on furlough.  I honestly don’t know why I brought it back with me.  I was kind of on a skirt “kick” and bought a lot of skirts, some of which I wear now and some I don’t.  I don’t know why I ever thought I would wear this one. For one thing, it’s white. I don’t do that well with white on my lower half.  And another thing, it’s not really gathered but it does have a drawstring waist and that’s just not that flattering on me. So, who knows.

But, I was rummaging through my closet and had a brainwave. I could turn my never-worn skirt into a dress for Claire!  Or Natalie, for that matter. but for some reason I wanted it to be a dress for Claire.

So, here’s the skirt, with Claire looking on:

 

I started off by picking some fabric out of my stash and making a top and ruffle from the fabric.  For the top, I used the Gracie pattern.  I LOVE this pattern, made by Sandi Henderson of Portabello Pixie (her other patterns look really cute, too – I just haven’t tried them yet!)  I have made each of the girls a couple dresses a piece from this pattern, and also several for gifts.  It’s not too complicated and the girls really love the twirly skirts! So, I used the pattern for the top, and then cut 4 WOF (width of fabric – selvedge to selvedge) strips and sewed them end-to-end to make the ruffle.

 

Next I gathered the ruffle and sewed it on the bottom of the skirt. I didn’t cut anything off the bottom of the skirt – just sewed the ruffle right on.

 

I just think that ruffle is so pretty!

 

Next it was time to cut off the top of the skirt. I don’t remember what measurement I used – I think it was about 4 inches from the top of the top tiered section, but I’m not sure.

 

Then I gathered the top of the cut-off area and sewed it to the bodice section I had already made. Voila! A brand-new dress for Claire!

 

And here’s the little cutie in her brand-new dress!  It’s a little big (I think I made the bodice size 4 so she would have room to grow into it. Not that size 3 wouldn’t have fit… can you believe she’s already 3 1/2 and most of her clothes are still size *TWO*?!)

 

It didn’t take her long to figure out she can twirl in it!  (honestly, do you think I’m crazy? Giving my 3-year-old a WHITE dress?! )

And that’s it… the story of how I turned a never-worn thrifted skirt into a much-loved dress for my daughter. All on a Sunday afternoon!

 

4 Responses to “Repurposed: Skirt turned dress for Claire”

  1. You are so creative and talented Sarah! The dress turned out really cute!

  2. Carmen Says:

    Sunday afternoons always bring great things! And, this dress is so adorable. I am sure she loves it! Twirly is a favorite around here too. My little girls do white well but I can’t wear white on my bottom or my top half! 😉 It is the very favorite place for anything red to land! For that matter, white always lands on my block items too! It is simply entertaining. (Smile)

    I wish I had your sewing skills. I try. I need someone willing to spend several days helping me figure out how to re-purpose items!

    Chris took the Dvd to work with him. Dan is the man on those short approaches! 😉

    • junglewife Says:

      Thanks for your sweet comment. I am not always the most creative, but I am pretty good at seeing others’ ideas and replicating them. I can follow a pattern! Although this one was all on my own! Living here forces me to be more creative about repurposing items. I had a couple weeks where I tried to figure out how I could get some new knit shits sent out here that actually fit me, since I have lost a bit of weight and the ones I “always” wear were pretty big. Finally I decided I could make do, and used my sewing machine to take off a couple inches on the inside seams of each of the shirts. It’s like having a whole new wardrobe! But I NEVER would have done that if we lived in the States. I would have just sent my old shirts to Goodwill and bought new ones. But necessity is the mother of invention, as they say!

      I love white shirts. Plain white knit shirts, white button up shirts,etc. But nothing white on the lower half!

      Nice to hear that Chris is enjoying the DVD. Dan just walked in (it’s 7 am which means on a normal morning he would already be returning from his first flight, but today he’s on maintenance so he hasn’t left for work yet :-)) and I told him that Chris took the DVD to work, and he said, “Nice!”

      Blessings, Sarah

  3. Karina Says:

    That’s amazing! Very creative 🙂


Leave a Reply

