Junglewife

Adventures of a former overseas missionary, pilot's wife, and mom of 4 girls

Melted computer December 23, 2011

Filed under: Wamena Life — junglewife @ 9:12 pm

Well, a word to the wise.  Check the fan vents on your computer. Make sure they are clean and not full of dust. It may mean the difference in life or death for your computer, especially if you have a laptop 🙂

Our laptop melted down a couple of days ago. I guess it got too hot and just completely shut down.   We couldn’t start it up – it would start booting up and then just stop and not go any further. Thankfully we have an IT guy here in Wamena who was able to look at the computer for us, and confirm that yes, the computer was toast.  He took out the hard drive which was still intact and unharmed, and also we have an external hard drive which periodically backs up our computer and had made a backup just a day or two before.  So we haven’t lost any data – just the computer.

So now, until we can get a new computer, we are using our 8-year-old laptop that for the past couple years has been the girls’ game computer!  I am glad that we still have it and that it still works!  So until I can get everything sorted out with the old computer/external hard drive/etc, it might take me a while to do a regular post here.

We have been busy here with Christmas activities and such.  I pray that you all have a wonderful Christmas. We are blessed to have a community of friends here who, while not biologically our family, are a gift from God and such an encouragement to us.  Merry Christmas!

 

11 Responses to “Melted computer”

  1. Gracia M. Says:

    Merry Christmas to you too. May God continue to bless you.

  2. Britney Says:

    YIKES!! I think I better check my laptop fan vents. I don’t want a melted computer!

    Have a very merry Christmas celebrating the birth of Christ.

    Is your blog page snowing???

    • junglewife Says:

      Yeah, I am sure it is pretty dusty in Haiti, like it is here! I would just check every once in a while, especially if your computer feels especially hot while you are using it! I guess this has been pretty common especially with the newer computers that are running “more computer” in a smaller machine.

      Yeah, my blog is snowing, isn’t it fun?! It’s not snowing here but at least it can snow on my blog 🙂

  3. Rita Whaley Says:

    Merry Christmas to all and i will check my vents to. i got a new laptop for Christmas,well I used some of my Dad’s money and he would be glad I got rid of my 1991 laptop that works well yet but slow and not up to par.

    love Rita and Olivia
    , the cat

    • Linda Says:

      Computer issues really are no fun…I’m glad you had a back up and didn’t lose data. Hopefully you’ll get it straightened out soon. I hope this will be a very special Christmas–blog snow and all! Hugs to you and yours….

      • junglewife Says:

        Linda,

        Thanks for your sweet comment. Yes, I am very glad we had a backup, too! And only have to live with an old, slow computer for a few weeks. We really have nothing to complain about 🙂

        Enjoy your Christmas with family! We are blessed with good friends here, especially the Clark family (I don’t know if you knew Leigh and Carissa – they used to be with MAF in Aceh but now are here in Wamena with AMA – they have become very good friends to us.) God always provides and even blesses beyond what we ask or imagine!

  4. Wow! What a loss! These become our communication vehicles to keep us in touch. Mine is very noisy so when I work on it early in the morning I shut the door so it won’t wake up my husband. I have no idea how to get to the inside to clean it, but I’m sure it is needed. Thanks for the idea and hopefully Santa might bring you a new one or keep that old one working!

    Marilyn

    • junglewife Says:

      Yeah, it is a pain to lose the computer. At least our old one is holding up so we can at least get online. We plan on buying a new one when we are back in the States in just a few weeks, so this one really only has to hold up for a bit longer. It will be an added expense but that can’t really be helped at this point!

  5. Kim Says:

    So sorry to hear of the demise of your computer 😦 It’s doubly hard when you’re overseas and everything is so expensive locally. Hopefully you can figure out a secure way to get a new one from the states. I was thankful that mine died last year while we were in the U.S. for our daughter’s wedding. Our son was able to fix it and replace the hard drive that had gone bad. A year before that I dropped my computer and the screen cracked (internally) so I couldn’t use it and we had to wait until someone came a couple months later that could bring the part we needed, then Ivan was able to fix it. We each have a computer and it IS great to have at least one to fall back on 🙂

    Trust you had a wonderful and blessed Christmas!

    • junglewife Says:

      No, it’s not easy to have a computer die overseas! But, thankfully the hard drive was not damaged and our friend has a hard drive enclosure with a USB port so we can just plug the hard drive into our old computer and use it that way. Also we are headed back to the States in about 2 1/2 weeks, so it really is pretty good timing! Just have to keep the old one running until we can get back and get a new one 🙂 Hope you had a great Christmas! I loved the pictures you just posted of your getaway. Sorry it was so hot!!! 😦


Leave a Reply

