Junglewife

Adventures of a former overseas missionary, pilot's wife, and mom of 4 girls

An update about my jaw and some other things February 2, 2012

Filed under: Health,Kids — junglewife @ 3:16 am

I just wanted to get on and write a quick update since I realize it’s been a while since I’ve posted. I have lots of pictures to post but since we as of yet do not have a new computer, I don’t have anywhere to upload and edit my pictures. So those will have to wait until we get our new computer (hopefully later this week.) We did bring our old, dead computer back with us, and took it into a computer repair shop here.  Almost $100 later…. the diagnosis is that the computer is indeed melted beyond repair. Oh well!  We have ordered a new desktop and are waiting for that to arrive before we have our “own” computer to use instead of borrowing from family (like I am doing now :-))

So, an update on my jaw…  A week ago I had my first consultation appointment and the diagnosis from the doctor is that I do NOT need surgery, which is wonderful news.  His suggestion for treatment is that they make a splint (which from what I can tell looks a lot like a retainer-type apparatus that is worn on the bottom teeth.)  So, yesterday I went in and had impressions made for the splint which should be ready in a couple of weeks.  After that is fitted and taken care of, I will be all done! Just have to make sure to wear the splint at night (or even during the day if my jaw is really bothering me) and that should take care of things 🙂

We are doing much better from our illnesses.  The girls and I still have lingering coughs but overall are much improved from a week ago!  We had a quick trip down to Oregon last week where we visited some friends and family before heading back north on Sunday.  This Friday my parents will arrive for a week-long visit, and I can’t wait!

 

4 Responses to “An update about my jaw and some other things”

  1. Rita Whaley Says:

    Good to hear and give your parents a big hug for me. Rita

  2. Gracia McDairmant Says:

    I’m glad you will get to see your parents.

  3. Britney Says:

    Yay for a visit from your parents! And I’m glad to hear you can get a splint for your jaw. My mom wears one for her TMJ. She wears it at night and when her jaw is bothering her. It’s really not a big deal… except we like to make fun of her when talks with it in. She sounds kind of funny. BUT, she only needs a new one every 3 years or so. Hopefully it works that way for you too.

    • junglewife Says:

      Yes, it should be the same for me, too. The doctor said I *could* wear it 24-7 if my jaw was really bothering me but only for up to 6 months because after that my teeth would start to move 🙂 But I would imagine that I will probably only wear it at night becuase my jaw really isn’t bothering me all that much right now. The doctor didn’t say anything about when it would need to be replaced but that is something we could do on a furlough, etc.

      And yes, I am SO excited for my parents to come. They are still with my sister in North Carolina and will be for at least the next year or so. I am glad that someone else is able to come help her take care of Zoe so that they can come spend a little time with us (although I think that they probably wouldn’t care if Dan and I were around or not, as long as they got to spend time with the girls! Ha!)


Leave a Reply

