Junglewife

Adventures of a former overseas missionary, pilot's wife, and mom of 4 girls

On teeth, jaws, and loss February 13, 2012

Filed under: Health,Travel — junglewife @ 2:57 pm

And this is going to be yet another quick update.  I do realize that I have not posted a single picture since we have been here in the States. We do have our own shiny new computer now, but I *still* have not found the time to edit and upload pictures, especially with new picture-editing programs that don’t work quite the same way as the ones I had on the old computer. I may just have to resign myself (and you all!) to the fact that the pictures might not get posted until we get back to Indonesia – I’m sorry. We’re just spending way to much face-to-face time with friends and family to be able to spend much time on the computer updating blogs and Facebook.  And now we’re down to just barely more than two weeks until we leave to go back. The time has just flown by.

We had a great visit with my parents, and even had a quick visit from my brother!  My parents were here for a week before returning to North Carolina on Friday, and it was so wonderful to have them here. I do think they desperately needed some time to relax, and I am so glad that they could spend some time with me, Dan, and the girls.

I had my upper wisdom teeth out on Tuesday, and it went quite well as far as tooth-pulling experiences go. I got the local anaesthesia and was in and out of the office in 20 minutes flat. Thanks to my dad’s advice to take both Tylenol AND Advil an hour before the procedure, the pain afterwards was minimal, too.  The doctor gave me a prescription for Vicodin, and after taking one dose and not really enjoying the side effects, I’ve decided I’m done with that particular drug for, oh, the rest of my life.  Advil will work just fine for me, thankyouverymuch. I spent most of the rest of the day resting in bed (mostly thanks to sleepiness brought on by Vicodin) and the next day was pretty much back to normal. Almost a week later, I’m still a little sore, but things seem to be healing up just fine.

I should get my splint for my jaw later this week, and that should be the extent of my medical treatment.

We got news on Monday night that my grandpa (my mom’s dad) had passed away earlier that evening. He hadn’t been doing very well after suffering several mini-strokes in the past year or so, and both he and my grandma have been under hospice care for about that long (from what I can recall).  I wrestled with the decision about whether to go to the funeral or not, and finally booked the tickets earlier today for the funeral which will be next weekend.  I am thankful that after several trips across the Pacific I have accumulated enough United miles to be able to purchase my tickets to Cleveland for only a minimal charge.  Although my grandmother isn’t doing well and most likely will neither recognize nor remember me, I am glad that I have the opportunity to be able to go to the funeral, something that wouldn’t even be an option if my grandpa had died while we were back in Indonesia. This may end up being the last time I see her.

Thank you for your prayers for us while we’ve been back here in the States. Please continue to pray as we prepare to return to Indonesia in just a couple of weeks. Sometimes it’s not easy going back.

 

4 Responses to “On teeth, jaws, and loss”

  1. Thanks for the update! Sounds like you’ve been really busy. Sorry about your grandparents. Sure glad we’re promised eternal life through our faith in Christ as this will happen to all of us eventually unless He comes first. So glad you’re able to get some help with the problems you’ve had with your jaw! Not fun either! Take care and enjoy seeing your family in Cleveland. I like the idea of the pre-planning for prevention of pain. Never heard of taking a Tylenol and an Advil together. I’ll bet your parents were as glad to be with you as you were to be with them!

    Marilyn Lightfoot

    • junglewife Says:

      Marilyn, thanks for your comment. Yes, we have been busy! We have gotten some good relaxation time in, too, though 🙂 Yes, we are very glad that we will see my Grandpa in heaven! My dad said that most hospitals and doctors haven’t yet started recommending taking pain medication in advance of surgery, etc, but that it is a very good way to prevent worse pain later on. Blessings to you!

  2. Kim Says:

    Can totally relate to the busy-ness of home ministry 🙂 I was doing good to post once a month on my blog while we were state-side. Just enjoy your time, and we’ll enjoy seeing the photos and hearing all about it once you’re back in Indonesia 🙂


Leave a Reply

