Junglewife

Adventures of a former overseas missionary, pilot's wife, and mom of 4 girls

A long absence and no internet March 30, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — junglewife @ 11:21 am

Hi! Did you miss me?! I know my last post was right before we left the States, and we have been back for a few weeks now, but there is a reason for my absence! For some reason, the internet provider we are using here in Wamena will not let me access wordpress.com at all, which means I can’t comment on any of my friends’ blogs who have WordPress, and I can’t write new posts here! So, right now I am at my friend’s house writing this post. She recently switched internet providers, so I am able to access WordPress from her house. I had grand ideas of uploading all my daily photos from the last couple of months and setting up the posts to post over the next couple of weeks, but the internet is pretty slow and it was about all I can do just to log on and write this πŸ˜‰

But wait, it gets worse! At the end of the month (yes, THIS month) the internet provider we’re currently using will be dropping us. So MAF has been scrambling to try and find something new. Yes, the one that my friend is using IS an option, and I think it is what we will be using for the next couple of months, but it will be VERY limited. Very limited as in – the type of connection my friend has just for her family will be split among all the families on the MAF base. So, I think it will be all we can do just to get e-mail for the next couple of months.

But wait, it gets better! Or at least, that is the hope! MAF is looking into getting our own VSAT system, so when we get all that set up (which will probably be a few months down the road), we will have very fast internet! Which is great news for the grandparents, because we may even be able to do video Skype! So, we’ll see.

But in the meantime, it may be a while before you hear from me again, unfortunately. If it was just a matter of WordPress not loading, I think I would try to open a blog on Blogger just temporarily until WordPress is working again. But I don’t think I will even do that, since for the next few months our internet will be so limited I’m not even sure we’ll be able to be on Facebook.

But, enough about that. I do want to let you know that we are back in Wamena safe and sound and getting back into the swing of things here. Dan is flying and doing maintenance; I am back to teaching school to the girls and spending a lot of time in the kitchen just getting meals on the table. Claire had her 4th birthday on the 15th (I can’t believe my baby is FOUR!!!) And we’re just getting on with life here.

Thank you all for your prayers as we continue with life and ministry here. I hope that I will be able to find a way to continue posting, but if not, at least you have an explanation this time πŸ™‚

Oh, and I do have a recipe post saved in my drafts, so you will proabably see that published soon, too. Not because I was able to get on and write, but just because I already had it written and saved here, and just never published πŸ™‚

 

10 Responses to “A long absence and no internet”

  1. Marilyn Lightfoot Says:

    How frustrating for you! This morning I had several problems, think it’s either my computer is getting too old or grandchildren uploading something is hindering. Anyway–it is finally working this morning. So glad you made it safely and are into the teaching process for your girls. Home Schoolers seem to do so well with their lessons tailored for their strengths and growth. I’m sure you stay very busy!

    Marilyn Lightfoot

  2. Charlotte Says:

    I have missed reading your updates; we will be praying that the internet solution comes quickly and easily. And of course we will keep you in our prayers as you go through your daily routine. Have a blessed week!

  3. I have missed your blogs! I have been really praying about the Internet situation in Papua (especially wamena!) so maybe God is up to something really exciting as far as Internet goes. I’m praying for the vsat system! :-). Video skype would be such a blessing! I am glad your are all doing well and back in the swing of things at home.

  4. thisnomad Says:

    I think there’s a way you can post by email; you get a secret email address from your wordpress account and then you could compose the post and just email it.

    • junglewife Says:

      I did look that up, and I might try it. The problem is that it requires an e-mail connection πŸ™‚ Our “new” internet started 2 days ago, and so far it has not been fast enough during the day to even check e-mail. I am up at 4:30 am right now just so that I will have a fast enough connection to check the e-mail. πŸ™‚

  5. Linda Says:

    Oh, Sarah….this is frustrating for you and your family and team. I’m glad you let us know what is going on so we can pray…you have been Missed!

  6. Jen Says:

    Oh, overseas internet…so unreliable! Hope you’re doing well!

    • junglewife Says:

      Was just able to log on to my gmail after a few days of being off and saw your comment! Ah, the joys. I haven’t been able to update my blog again although we CAN access WordPress with this temporary internet we’re using. We are getting *just* enough speed to be able to check our e-mail once or twice a day but not much more than that, unfortunately. It’s frustrating to sit in front of the computer for an hour and all I get accomplished is reading the e-mail (and sometimes not even getting to reply!!!)


Leave a Reply

