Junglewife

Adventures of a former overseas missionary, pilot's wife, and mom of 4 girls

A quick update May 26, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — junglewife @ 9:07 am

Hello all!  I bet you thought you’d never hear from me again, didn’t you?!   Well, the internet really has been awfully slow around these parts lately.  Most of the time it’s all we can do just to check the e-mail, and sometimes that doesn’t even happen. And then, I must confess, there have been times when the internet has been a bit faster, but I am just too lazy to see if WordPress will load and I can write a post 🙂   So since the internet is working this morning, I will try to write a little bit of an update for you. 

Honestly, I don’t even know where to start, it’s been so long!!!  I have lots of pictures and stuff to show you, but I don’t know when I will get the chance to post those. I think it’s going to be at least a couple more months or so until we get our v-sat system set up, and then we will have nice, fast internet all the time! That’s the hope, anyway! 

School just ended for the school kids, and several of the families here on the base are off to Bali for vacation, or to the States for summer furlough. So it’s a bit of a ghost town on the base right now. 

The girls are doing well. I can’t believe that Natalie will be starting 1st grade when school starts up again in the fall! I have a school-age child! Yes, we put things off a bit here because there’s no kindergarten in the school here, so it feels like she’s still my ‘baby’ and not school-age yet, even though I’ve been home-schooling her! 

Natalie has been learning how to read, and will sound out words and try to write things. Claire is very much trying to catch up to her big sister, and already knows how to write her own name. Sometimes her “E” has four “legs” on it instead of three 🙂

Dan gave me a scooter for my birthday. Yes, a scooter of the motorcycle variety 🙂  I am thoroughly enjoying it. Let me see if I can upload a picture (fingers crossed…)Image

Wow, look at that! A real photo posted on this lil’ ol’ blog!  I will have to try this more often!!

That’s me on my Scoopy!  Dan took it when we first got it, and you can kind of see Claire crying in the background. She wanted to ride with me, but it had been 10 years or more since I had driven a scooter, and I wanted to get more comfortable driving it before I took a passenger, even a small one like her 🙂  It didn’t take long before she was riding with me, though!

I have gotten quite adept at riding around town with both girls and a load of groceries.  Natalie usually sits on the back behind me, and Claire in the front between my legs.  We do have two cars here on base but all the families share them, and with 8 families, sometimes there just isn’t a car to use. So it’s nice to have another option. And the girls really like riding around with Mommy 🙂

Well, a short post is better than none, right? Now that I know this “quick post” feature works pretty well, I will have to update more often than 2 months from now 🙂  I’ll try to upload one more picture… this is our family on Easter, here on the base.

Image

 

10 Responses to “A quick update”

  1. @ngie Says:

    I love it! You are one sweet lookin’ motorcycle mama 😉 The family looks great!

  2. Jen Says:

    So good to see you! What an awesome birthday gift! I can imagine that the girls love riding around town with you.

    • junglewife Says:

      Yes, I love my scooter! I am not sure I would ever ride one in the States, but here where the fastest we go is only about 30 km/hr, I am perfectly comfortable with it. Yes, the traffic (includes everything on the roads, which is not just cars or even motor vehicles :-)) is crazy here, but at least it is slow crazy traffic!

  3. Kim Says:

    Oh my goodness, I can’t believe how much older Natalie looks! She’s growing up so fast 🙂 Before you know it, she’ll be driving that scooter.
    Which, by the way, is gorgeous! Looks like a lot of fun, and I know it’s really practical too.

    • junglewife Says:

      Yeah, no kidding. They do grow up fast, don’t they?! Claire just started riding a bike with no training wheels…yikes! My baby is growing up! Yeah, a motorcycle is really practical around here. I would have gotten a bicycle but I wouldn’t have been able to take the kids with me unless they were riding their own bikes, and at ages 6 and 4 I’m just not ready for that yet! When they are older biking around town will be more practical, but for now the motorcycle is fun!

  4. Linda Says:

    We are insanely jealous of your scooter. Love it! Be safe… just had to say that, I know you will be. Love and miss you but so glad you could post!

    • junglewife Says:

      Yes, i love my scooter, too! Dan wouldn’t let me get the pink one… 🙂 I will be as safe as I can. I don’t drive fast…not that it is possible to drive very fast here. Yesterday the girls asked me to go FAST! And I looked down at the speedometer and it was just below 40 km/hr. it seemed very fast! But with the narrow roads and all the people/animals/motorcycles/bicycle rickshaws/trucks on them, I do try to be quite careful. I know that it is God who protects us!

  5. Rachael Says:

    yes! I like to see this. I really want a vespa “someday” but I felt as if Lux might signal the end of that opportunity. But now that the girls are old enough, it’s probably so fun for them!

    • junglewife Says:

      Oh, you should totally get a Vespa! Although you’re right, I’m sure there are laws in the States about how old a child has to be in order to ride on a motorcycle. Here, no such laws… I’ve seen dads riding motorcycles, holding their newborns in one arm and steering the motorcycle with the other 🙂 I’ve even encouraged my friend to get one – she has a 3-year-old and a 1-year-old. She can wear her 1-year-old in her Ergo on her back and the 3-year-old can sit in front of her… things are just different here 🙂 Riding motorcycles on the highway is one thing, but if you just wanted a Vespa to putt around town, I’m sure you wouldn’t have to wait until Lux was *too* old in order to get one!


Leave a Reply

