Junglewife

Adventures of a former overseas missionary, pilot's wife, and mom of 4 girls

A lesson in answered prayer May 29, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — junglewife @ 9:22 am

Lately our girls have really been enjoying the “Bad Kitty” books. (If you haven’t read these books, I highly recommend them. They are really a lot of fun for little kids… and bigger kids, too!) We started off during furlough with the two hardcover books that have an “ABC” format – Bad Kitty and Poor Puppy.  When we went back to the States this past January I bought a few of the paperback books that are in more of a chapter format. I hadn’t given the books to the girls yet, but a few weeks ago Dan was looking for a new bedtime story.  They started with Bad Kitty Gets a Bath and had just moved on to Happy Birthday, Bad Kitty.

Dan didn’t want the girls looking ahead after he had started reading Happy Birthday, Bad Kitty, so he decided to hide the book each night. Each night he chose a new hiding place, and then the next night he would help the girls find the book by playing the “hot and cold” game before it was time to read the story. 

This had gone on for a couple of nights, and then it happened… Dan forgot where he had hidden the book!  It was a Saturday night, and we looked and looked for that book, and couldn’t find it anywhere.  Finally we gave up and read a different book.  Sunday we continued our search. I am not joking when I say that we searched every corner of our house. We looked in every drawer, in every toy basket, in every closet, under every pillow and mattress.  The book was nowhere to be found.

Bedtime came once again on Sunday night, and again we read a different book. After storytime we sang and prayed. I prayed that God would help us to find the Bad Kitty book.  After my prayer, Natalie asked me, “Mommy, how does God show you how to find something?” And that led to a good conversation about how sometimes God gives us ideas and helps us to know where to look. He doesn’t always tell us in a voice we can hear, but sometimes we can feel like we should look in a certain place, or do a certain thing, and we can know that it is God showing us what to do.

Right after we had this conversation, I turned my head to look at Claire, and something caught my eye.  It was the Bad Kitty book, behind a throw pillow on the couch! 

“Look what I found, you guys!” I exclaimed!  “We prayed, and God helped Mommy to find the Bad Kitty book!” 

What awesome timing God has.  After looking for that book for over 24 hours, God had us wait to find it until He could teach His children a lesson.  I hope this lesson sticks with Natalie and Claire… it sure will stick with me!

 

6 Responses to “A lesson in answered prayer”

  1. Kyle Ambrose Says:

    Terrific! Praise God for working that way in your lives.

  2. amber Says:

    I love when God shows our children how He answers prayers. I’ve prayed the same kind of prayer with the boys and always love to see Him help us! Miss you and the girls!

    • junglewife Says:

      You know, I always wonder, “what if I pray with the kids, and then they don’t see God’s answer right away?” I guess that would be a lesson in and of itself, but then again I have to ask the Lord to help me with my doubting spirit! There is a reason why it is called “childlike” faith!

      We miss you, too!!!!

  3. It seems it’s the “little details” that impress us so much of His care and intervention. How aware we are of seeing His loving concern. Bless your family as you experience and see His guidance!

    Marilyn

  4. Kim Says:

    Gotta love those teachable moments!

    I can recall a time (or three) when I’d be frantically searching for something and one of my kids would ask, “But mommy, have you prayed?!” And I’d sheepishly stop and we would pray, and so often the item was found quickly. But sometimes we still couldn’t find it and then we’d have a chance to talk about how sometimes God says “wait” or even “no”.

    • junglewife Says:

      Good thoughts! Yeah, it is hard to explain to kids (heck, it’s hard to explain to OURSELVES!) when we pray and pray for something and then it doesn’t seem like God answers. So, sometimes in my mind that is an excuse not to even pray with the kids at all in certain situations. But I need to remember what you said, that sometimes God says “wait” or “no”, even though that might not be the best answer in our minds, and sometimes is hard to accept. I want to cultivate faith in my kids!


Leave a Reply

