Junglewife

Adventures of a former overseas missionary, pilot's wife, and mom of 4 girls

Long-overdue update!!! August 24, 2012

Filed under: Flying,Kids,Wamena Life — junglewife @ 5:21 am

**I actually wrote this post almost a month ago and have been trying to post it ever since!  I’m not going to tempt fate and try to add any pictures to this post now that I am finally online and hopefully going to be able to post this!  I’ll try to add some pictures later. For now, this will suffice!

 

Whoa! I can’t believe it has been 2 months since I have updated the blog! (of course since I couldn’t post this, now it is closer to 3!!!)  There has been a lot going on here since my last update, and no, we don’t have fast internet yet.  We are getting closer (I think!) but our satellite dish is still stuck in customs. Please pray that it will get released!!!

I’ll try to update you a bit on what has been going on in our lives since I posted last!

At the beginning of June we had some unrest here in Wamena. There was an incident involving a soldier who had an accident with a local boy, and the local people retaliated, killing the soldier. They thought the boy had died but later found out he hadn’t.  That sparked retaliation by the military, involving burning of people’s homes, lots of gunfire, and even more unrest among the local people. Thankfully the uproar didn’t take too long to die down. We still pray for the people of Wamena, though, that they would turn to God for answers instead of violence.

In mid-June we were starting to feel a bit of cabin fever here in Wamena so we decided to take a spur-of-the-moment trip to Sentani, just for the weekend.  We left Friday afternoon and got back on Monday morning. It was nice to get out of Wamena, even if just for a couple days. We went swimming at the pool in Sentani and did quite a bit of shopping.

Then, we found out that less than a couple weeks later, Dan was going to have to travel to Sentani for about 1 1/2 weeks to help out with an inspection. So, rather than stay in Wamena by myself, we decided that the girls and I would go with him!  The girls and I had a lot of fun while Dan was at work – I took them to the mall, we went swimming almost every day (by the end of our stay, Natalie had taught herself to swim!), and we hung out with the other families on base.  We got to hang out with other expats and even enjoy some fireworks for the 4th of July! We were also in Sentani when the team from New Heights church arrived from the States. New Heights sends a team every year to help out with our family conference, and it was great to be in Sentani when they arrived, and hang out with them a bit! The girls and I got to go along with them when they went to a nearby beach for the day, too. What fun!

We got home from Wamena on a Friday and then had to unpack, do laundry and pack up again, because our family conference started on Tuesday!

So, on July 10, we headed off to our annual MAF Papua family conference, not too far from Wamena.  Family conference is a bit like camping with all of your co-workers. 🙂  Thankfully our girls are no longer babies, so we didn’t have to deal with middle-of-the-night feedings, diapers, etc. The girls had a great time at their classes (Thanks, New Heights team!) and Dan and I thoroughly enjoyed Pastor Matt Hannan’s teaching. What a treat for me not to have to cook all week long! It might not seem like such a treat to you to have to eat camp food for a week, but when you live in a place where EVERY meal is cooked from scratch, it certainly is a treat to not even have to think about cooking for an entire week! I did take quite a few photos this week, but again we run into the slow internet problem.  So, if you want to see my pictures from last year’s conference, just click here 🙂

We’ve been back in Wamena for a few weeks since conference ended and are just getting back into the swing of life after things were a little topsy-turvy this summer. I can’t believe that in less than 3 weeks, Natalie will start 1st grade at the little mission school here in Wamena!  (She just started yesterday!!!) Claire is eager to learn, too, so I have some preschool lessons I hope to do with her while Natalie is in school. It will be a big change to not have Natalie around all day!

Dan is keeping busy, flying both the 206 and the Caravan (not at the same time, of course!) This week he is working on maintenance for his 206. It is actually turning out to be a pretty good week to do maintenance – it has been unusually cloudy and rainy this week – not such a good week for flying!

 

Well, since this was written almost a month ago of course life has continued on since then, but I will try to write more and post pictures in a bit. In the meantime, this is getting posted!!!

 

6 Responses to “Long-overdue update!!!”

  1. Britney Says:

    yay for an update!

    boo for unrest. we haven’t had any here lately, thankfully.

    i hope you’ll be able to tell us how Natalie likes going to school.

    and I hope the satellite dish makes it out of customs soon!

    • junglewife Says:

      Thanks, Britney! I think if I want to post on my blog I am just going to have to wake up at 5 am and do it then. I should not be complaining because my hubby is up at 4:15 each morning… but it is still frustrating when I get online that early and it STILL doesn’t work. Oh well.

      Natalie did enjoy her first day of school. Today we went and ate lunch with her (ah the joys of only living 2 minutes away from your kid’s school!) and I told her that she wouldn’t have to go to school tomorrow, and she got sad 🙂

  2. Kim Says:

    You can sure pack a lot of activity into a few months 🙂 Glad you’ve had a good summer! Will pray that the satellite dish makes it out of customs soon. Happy to hear Natalie likes school!

    • junglewife Says:

      Kim, you have no idea! I thought our summer was going to be pretty uneventful, but we ended up packing quite a bit into it 🙂 Yes, this whole customs thing is pretty frustrating. The satellite dish actually got released once, but then was taken back into customs again… I’m sure due to corruption somewhere. Ugh.

  3. Brent Jones Says:

    Sarah, I always love to hear from you. You do a good job of communicating.
    Uncle Brent


Leave a Reply

